clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Squad Number Omissions Signal End For Sunderland Trio

For those aficionados out there - and we know there are some - here is the fresh squad numbery goodness for the new season.

Richard Sellers

Sunderland have released their squad numbers for the upcoming season, with a few notable omissions.

Unsurprisingly, Mobido Diakite and Cabral are not listed. More surprising and much more annoyingly, Alfred N'Diaye also has no allotted number for next season yet. Most ball-achingly awful of all, though, is that Danny Graham does have a number.

1. Costel Pantilimon
2. Billy Jones
3. Patrick van Aanholt
4. Liam Bridcutt
5. Wes Brown
6. Lee Cattermole
7. Seb Larsson
8. Jack Rodwell
9. Steven Fletcher
10. Connor Wickham
11. Adam Johnson
13. Jordan Pickford
14. Jordi Gomez
16. John O'Shea
17. Jozy Altidore
18. Charis Mavrias
19. Danny Graham
23. Emanuele Giaccherini
25. Vito Mannone
27. Santiago Vergini
29. Valentin Roberge
30. Will Buckley
38. Mikael Mandron
40. Martin Smith
41. Duncan Watmore
42. Liam Agnew
48. Joel Dixon

Other than those, it's no huge shock. Will Buckley has taken the number 30 shirt that he wore at Brighton, with Liam Bridcutt taking the number 4 that Ki Sung-yueng vacated this summer. Lee Cattermole also has his number 6 back, which is nice.

One point worth mentioning is that number 31 has not been taken. Which naturally means absolutely nothing, but frankly we are running out of ways to grasp at straws about Fabio Borini coming back and entertain ourselves, so there you go.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Roker Report Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Sunderland news from Roker Report