clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sunderland Squad Numbers 2013/14 Announced

A few changes come as this years squad numbers are officially revealed.

Tom Dulat

The news everyone has seemingly been waiting for which doesn't pertain to signing fullbacks or creative midfielders is what will this years squad numbers be? Well finally the club have obliged and dished them out, with one or two changes from last season, and plenty to get squad number aficionados hot under the collar.

The top story is that there's no number at all for Phil Bardsely. The out-of-favour defender has very much been given the boot by Paolo Di Canio, and despite there being little interest in him, likely to decrease further with news of his broken foot, the club are still still serious in that they've not assigned him a number for the forthcoming season.

Many of the new signings will all wear the numbers they were assigned in Hong Kong and Denmark, with the exception of Emanuele Giaccherini who takes the number 23 shirt now James McClean has left for Wigan Athletic.

Steven Fletcher switches to number 9 from 26, while Adam Johnson takes 11 instead of 21. Ji Dong-Won switches from 17 to 27 as Jozy Altidore takes his favoured number.

Lee Cattermole seems another one like Bardsley who is likely to be given the boot, but has been given the number 33 shirt. Perhaps something of a Anton Ferdinand-like "shit, nobody wants him but he's still alright I suppose" last minute addition.

The only new signing not to get a number is young striker Duncan Watmore who will likely spend the entire season in the development squad.

There's no 1, 2, 3 or 4 for those who think there's more signings to come.

Sunderland Squad Numbers 2013/14

5. Wes Brown
6. Cabral
7. Seb Larsson
8. Craig Gardner
9. Steven Fletcher
10. Connor Wickham
11. Adam Johnson
12. Ondrej Celustka
13. Jordan Pickford
14. Jack Colback
15. David Vaughan
16. John O'Shea
17. Jozy Altidore
18. Mikael Mandron
19. David Moberg Karlsson
20. Keiren Westwood
21. Modibo Diakite
22. El Hadji-Ba
23. Emanuele Giaccherini
24. Carlos Cuellar
25. Vito Mannone
27. Ji Dong-Won
28. Stephane Sessegnon
29. Valentin Roberge
33. Lee Cattermole

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Roker Report Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Sunderland news from Roker Report